A Mission With A Feminine Side
What makes Mission Santa Clara de Asis unique is it was the first mission to be named after a woman, Saint Clare of Assisi. It is the 8th mission founded in California and was founded on January 12, 1777, by Friar Junipero Serra.
It has been destroyed by flood, earthquakes and finally a fire in 1926, started when faulty wiring set off the fire in the church’s north bell tower. A priest who was performing the morning Mass sounded the alarm.
Students and faculty members tried and succeeded in saving some historic mementos, but could not save the historic old building. The only part of the original mission left is the outer wall. The church that stands here today (the sixth), was dedicated in 1928.
Next to the pulpit stands a 1930 Pearwood statue of John The Baptist. There are also some beautiful paintings inside.
Also inside the church is a large organ and some interesting light fixtures.
The ceiling is an exact reproduction of the one that burned in the 1926 fire.
Also near the church is the requisite life-size statue of Junipero Serra and one of Saint Ignatius of Loyola, which is located across the street.
We stopped by the rose garden, sadly devoid of roses at this time of year.
There are crosses in front of the church, but there is not a lot of literature to tell you very much about anything.
Mission Santa Clara de Asis
500 El Camino Real • Santa Clara, CA 95053
Telephone: (408) 554.4023